13 april, 2013

Regels zijn regels, maar niet voor Tiger Woods

AUGUSTA, Ga. — Tiger Woods was assessed a two-shot penalty at the Masters on Saturday for taking an illegal drop on the 15h hole during Friday's second round.
The Masters issued a statement 40 minutes after play in the third round began.
After being prompted by a television viewer, the Rules Committee reviewed a video of the shot on 15 while Woods was playing the 18th hole. At the time, the committee determined Woods had complied with the rules, according to the statement.
After the round, Woods said he played his fifth shot further from the point from where he had hit his third round, which would constitute playing from the wrong place. This warranted the committee to further review and discuss the matter with Woods Saturday morning.
After the meeting, according to the statement, the committee determined Woods had violated the rule and assessed him a 2-stroke penalty. The penalty for disqualification for signing an incorrect scorecard, however, was waived by the committee under Rule 33 as the committee had previously reviewed the matter and made its initial determination prior to the finish of the player's round. This meant Woods was not aware or told he made an illegal drop.
Hij had gediskwalificeerd moeten worden. Dat zeggen de regels.
Golf is een regelsport.
Waar ik me het meest aan erger zijn de reacties op dit voorval.
Zoals: "Het is slecht voor The Masters als Tiger gediskwalificeerd wordt."
Wat een bullshit.
Dat zou inhouden dat Woods alle regels aan zijn Nike's kan lappen.
Mocht hij zondag alsnog winnen, dan trekt hij een groen jasje met een onuitwisbare vlek aan.

Geen opmerkingen: